Changing Roles and Changing Communities

Standard

Hello Again Friends!

I’ve been very busy working on some great new projects for CMT so pardon all the past tense posts!

Image

I’ve got a new view here at CMT overlooking Broadway and the Bridgestone/Ryman buildings.  I’ve also been working more closely with our CMT team whereas I focused on all of Viacom before.  Currently I’ve been working on Music Research, dabbling in some Contract Drafting, Managing some database materials, and reviewing some content for our new program lineup.  As we near the CMT Awards, I’m sure I will be busy working on tasks for that night.  MTV is also having their Movie Awards this SUNDAY at 8pm CST!! Let’s just say I’m secretly willing anything Hunger Games and Jennifer Lawrence to win. 

Image

Another thing that has been showing up in my inbox is how Viacom is giving back to the community.  Viacom offers their staff additional vacation days to do community service and to help better their community.  They even offer a website that will help employees track their hours and connect them with service projects.  Their Corporate Social Responsibility website Viacommunity outlines their projects and helps promote goodwill across the company. 

The mission of Viacommunity is: “to better the communities which Viacom serves, and make a positive social impact on the people and areas where we work and live. It’s about leveraging the power of Viacom’s brands to drive action on the issues that matter to stakeholders. And it’s amplifying those acts, spreading their impact to help others make a difference. Plain and simple, it’s Impact. Amplified“.  This is something that not only I agree with, but something that I feel I will require in a corporate atmosphere when I am looking for a job. 

Image

In my time at CMT, departments have come together to help build a home for Habitat for Humanity and have even hosted a Career Interest Day with students at our partner school McGavock High School.  CMT and Viacom truly invest in their community and encourages its employees to do the same.  By investing in our communities we can better understand our consumers and can give our employees a chance to feel more connected to the areas they work in.  This outlet benefits both the community and Viacom. 

Leave a Reply

